Wednesday, April 16, 2014

April 14-15th Lunar Eclipse

Nothing fancy. Just pointing and shooting through a 40mm eyepiece. 8" Dobsonian telescope. No filters, no guiding, no nothing.


'Shorties' at Heavy Metal at

Enthroned Sovereigns

Erebus Enthroned Temple Under Hell

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Metal Alliance Tour 2014

Bands: Behemoth, Goatwhore, 1349, and Inquisition

Venue: House of Blues, Sunset Strip; West Hollywood, CA

Date: April 5th, 2014

The second annual Metal Alliance Tour steamrolled into West Hollywood a few weeks ago. Featuring Behemoth, Goatwhore, 1349, Inquisition, and Black Crown Initiate, I cerainly wasn't going to let this one go by. You can read my official writeup at Heavy Metal at here.

My friends and I could not arrive in time to catch Black Crown Initiate, but here are a few pictures of the rest of the show. I eschewed buying any shirts this time around, though.






Triptykon Melana Chasmata

Saturday, April 05, 2014

Destruction, Krisiun, and Exmortus

Bands: Destruction, Krisiun, and Exmortus

Venue: Whisky Go-Go; West Hollywood, CA

Date: March 30th, 2014

After a relatively slow start, the concert season in Los Angeles is starting to heat up. Recently, I took in the L.A. date of the current tour of Destruction and Krisiun, two power trios that have been perennial favorites of mine for years. A formal review has published at Heavy Metal at here. Here are a few pictures, all done from my iPhone.




A slew of reviews to get caught up on. First, the 'shorties' at Heavy Metal at

Dodsferd The Parasitic Survival Of The Human Race

Savage Messiah The Fateful Dark

Cemetery Fog Shadows From The Cemetery

Neige Et Noirceur Gouffre Onirique Et Abimes Cosmique

Sargeist Feeding The Crawling Shadows

... and here's a full-length review published at Last Rites...

Twilight III: Beneath Trident's Tomb

Sunday, March 09, 2014

Shroud Eater, Lightning Swords Of Death, Orbweaver, and Ancient Altar

Bands: Shroud Eater, Lightning Swords Of Death, Orbweaver, and Ancient Altar

Venue: The Complex, Glendale, CA

Date: February 28th, 2014

Yeah, my postings have been rather sparse of late as I've decided to let a few of the higher profile tours of the winter go by in favor of some of the smaller tours that have recently occurred. For example, I headed out to The Complex in suburban Glendale to catch the Los Angeles date of the Shroud Eater/ Orbweaver tour. Providing local support were Lightning Swords Of Death and Ancient Altar. You can read my official writeup of the show here.

Ancient Altar


Lightning Swords Of Death

Shroud Eater

The t-shirt haul....

As sparse as my posts have been, things are still going strong at Heavy Metal at, Last Rites, and Metal Bandcamp. Here's a backlog of various reviews, starting with the 'shorties' at

Astrophobos Remnants Of Forgotten Horrors

Lay Down Rotten Deathspell Catharsis

Aborted Fetus Private Judgment Day

Embryonic Devourment Reptilian Agenda

Sahg Delusions Of Grandeur

Acheron Kultes Des Hasses

Agiel Dark Pantheons

Bleeding Fist Death's Old Stench

Here are a few recent full-length reviews published at Last Rites...

Truckfighters Universe

Morbus Chron Sweven

Hirax Immortal Legacy

Finally, here's the first installment of Dave's Demo Roundup, what I hope to be a semi-regular column at Metal Bandcamp.